Over 100 Years of Heritage
Llanhilleth Miners Institute, a Grade II listed building stands prestigiously within the picturesque village of Llanhilleth. Constructed in 1906 to meet the educational, recreational and health needs of the local miners and their families, the Institute has remained at the heart of the local community over generations and provides a vibrant link with the industrial past of the Ebbw Fach Valley.
In 2009, following refurbishment, the Institute was fully restored to its former glory and re-launched as a Social Enterprise and Registered Charity with a similar ethos to its original purpose.
The Institute is unique and authentically Welsh, it's primary purpose being a focus and resource for the whole of the community (see our Community pages) as well as a venue that caters for conferences, weddings, the arts and live entertainment.
'Rebuilding History ', a short film produced by 'Made In Tredegar' explores our heritage and history and tells how the refurbishment of the building uncovered orginal hidden features and brought the Institute back to life.
The Institute has two function rooms; a large Dance Hall (Ithel Hall) with licensed bar and smaller but divisable Ebbw Suites as well as our Heritage Community Café.
The heritage of Llanhilleth and the St Illtyds Ward is about more than simply coal mining. Although coal mining played an important role; the Institute itself being built and paid for by the local Miners, it is also an area of myths and legends, fairies and folklore with its own Giant and Castle.
Little evidence of the powerful coal industry remains and the scars of coal mining have healed allowing the beautiful scenery of Llanhilleth to shine through.